Senior Projects

It's nice to know they're listening....

It’s nice to know they’re listening….

My biology 2 class is a mix of sophomores, juniors, and seniors.  We study human anatomy & physiology 2nd semester and their final exam grade is broken into a project (75%) and the actual in class test (25%). But when final exams come around in the spring, my seniors are not there (they graduate a week before the end of the year). So I give the seniors a “special” project. I let them choose any topic they want, as long as it relates to biology (could be something from Bio 1 or Bio 2, allowing them to pick something they are really interested in). They come up with 5 questions to base their research on and turn in a written portion (again, I let them choose how they want to do this- most do a typical research paper, but I have had students turn in stories, and one even turned her research into a magazine which included a mix of articles she read and ones she wrote herself!).

The stages of fetal development painted on my lab table. An original art piece!

The stages of fetal development painted on my lab table. An original art piece!

The last part of this project is “something to remember them by”. Meaning it has to be a visual aid that can be left in my room. Some make posters, one made a power point, but the one pictured above is one of my favorites! Her topic was fetal development, so she painted the three trimesters on one of the lab tables in my classroom. She did a great job! And I had several students (including my freshman) ask when they can paint on my walls! “When you take Bio 2 your senior year”. Four years of science- woohoo!

Leave a Reply

